Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the breakthroughs made in the domain of technology, the question of whether or not these advancements increase crime rates sparked a contentious debate, with some people claiming that these innovations lead to cybercrime. However, I believe that it hinders committing crime by improving security.

One viable reason for people to be of the opinion that developed technology gave rise to a new type of crime. Cybercrime has become one of the most concerning issues, with hackers obtaining access to personal data and even people’s bank accounts by gaining naïve individuals’ trust. As technology continues to develop, criminals often explore innovative ways to commit fraud and to launder illegal income before adequate security measures are implemented. Moreover, some individuals, particularly the young generation, can be influenced by violent games or videos seen online and be willing to imitate violence in real life.

Having said that, I contend that it prevents crime because modern security systems, such as CCTV cameras, biometric identification, and GPS tracking, have enabled authorities to monitor public spaces and easily identify offenders. Moreover, this instills fear in the hearts of would-be criminals, as the risk of being caught has escalated. As a result, potential criminals may be discouraged from committing crimes. A good case in point would be my classmate, who was deterred from engaging in criminal activity as soon as he got to know the chances of being captured by CCTV cameras.

In conclusion, while some people assert that technological developments contribute to crime due to cybercrime, I advocate that it prevents people from participating in illegal activities.