People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

In the contemporary world, by reason of many individuals being plagued by a plethora of preoccupations, coupled with the expanding generation gap inherent in almost every family, no longer do people in many parts of the world spend as much time with their family as they did in bygone eras. In this essay, I will delve into the reasons underlying this phhenomenon and simultaneously explore the corollaries thereof.

For a start, maintaining work-life equilibrium in today’s world is deemed somewhat unattainable by some. Granted, given that nearly everyone, regardless of their age, is busily employed in either work or study, they have to forgo pleasurable time spent with their next of kin, to the detriment of family ties. Nowhere is this as evident as in schools in Vietnam. To be more specific, on account of the hitherto overstretched curriculum and the sheer undue amount of homework one has to contend with daily, Vietnamese students are often left with little, or even no time with their family to strengthen family bonds. Moreover, in a world characterized by the inexorable march of technological advancement, the generation gap between family members has been widened. Doubtless, with smartphones permeating virtually every facet of life, older genertaions who fail to keep themselves abreast of technological leaps may presumably feel estranged from their own offspring or grandchildren.

Resultantly, the trend in which the amount of time allocated for family is reduced not only impinges on individuals but also hold adverse ramifications on a societal scale. Regarding the former, spending time with family members serves as a modality of catharsis, effectuating a diminuition in stress level. Therefore, being unable to be with one’s dear family may have repercussions on people’s wellbeing, both mental and physical, not least children’s. According to available literature, youngsters in household in which both spouses expend little time staying with them have a greater tendency to chronically fare academically worse than their counterparts. On a grander scale, with the deteriortaion in quality family time there comes the degeneracy across the spectrum. In a sense, family is the mainspring pf upstanding citizens. Failure to spend time with one’s next of kin will inevitably lead to wrongdoings, and by extension, amoral practices.

Concluding, then, the phenomenon of lessened time with family has its roots in the very nature of today’s demanding life, compounded by technological growth. Inasmuch as its far-reaching impacts extend beyond individual scale, the onus is on individuals to wake up to the cult of work as well as free up more time for their family, and on governments to explore avenues to alleviate this conundrum.