People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

In modern society, people have the tendency to spend less time with their family members. From my standpoint, this phenomenon comes from several reasons and has negative effects on both the individuals and their family.

First and foremost, when someone asks why we don’t often go home, we are almost blame for our hectic lifestyle. Due to ever – increasing living standards, we are snowed under with work to pay our daily expenses. That has become a common excuse that people often mention when talking about family distance. Another point worth mentioning is that a multitude of people always put a priority on other pastimes. In fact, they expend an excessive amount of time even all day on screen time activities. That is one of the rationales they avoid direct communication with others, even amongst family members.

The tendency of sparing less time with their family brings consequences for both individuals and family. Firstly, this can lead to potential conflicts and widen the generation gap. That’s why the misunderstanding also happens on a regular basis. Therefore, they can feel a sense of loneliness and alienation in their house. Specially, the worst case scenario occurs with spouses. They often have distance and absence in their own house. If this happens many times, it will cause family breakdowns. So unexpected outcomes that is many families’ separation or divorce are imminent.

In conclusion, the trend of spending less time with family comes from the generation gap and the increase of personal entertainment forms. Furthermore, this development has negative effects on both the individual’s well-being and their families.