People often find it difficult to adapt to new situations in their lives. Why do you think this is? What measures can you suggest to make it easier?

Coping with unfamiliar situations has always been a common fear among people. Although there are various reasons behind this feeling, certain similar patterns tend to repeat.

Confronting new circumstances requires a high sense of flexibility, which is not a characteristic that everyone naturally possesses. Therefore, people who are not gifted with this ability, find themselves extremely helpless, every time a change is happening. For example, a person who defines a good life in complete steadiness and got used to that, never going to enjoy anything new, either good or bad. Furthermore, there is also a well-known psychological perspective which claims human beings generally feel threatened toward anything unknown, According to the theory, the fear of atypicals has roots in incapability of predicting them. In the absence of predictions, we can not prepare for possible threats, and thus have no choice but placing ourselves in a position of vulnerability. For example, most of kids cry in the first day of kindergarten or school. They suddenly find themselves in a new place which nothing about it is predictable and at the same time suffer from the lack of support that their parents used to give, all leads to a profound sense of inability against adaption.

With knowing these factors and understanding the motivations, we can learn how to manage the problem. As an example, if we be aware of the fact that we are avoidant only because of unfamiliarities and nothing more, we can face them better and as a result of that, adpat easily, and take benefits from the new experiences. Remembering the fact that isolation is going to hold you back from the good achievements too, is also can appear very effective. Moreover, dedicating time to particular programs in schools and letting kids grow with a accepting attitude is another great action.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to alter the difficult situation. From my perspective, steadily developing awareness from childhood could be the most effective one.