People these days work longer and longer hours. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

In contemporary society, people have the tendency to work overtime. This essay will dissect the underlying causative factors and propose some workable remedies.

Notably, there are numerous rationales for the extension of working hours among the workforce. The primary, intrinsic, and evidence reason is the emergence of robots. Irrefutably, most professional works are typically performed automatically by robotic devices, especially administrative tasks, which is possibly synonymous with the fact that corporate bodies downsize to maximize their revenue, resultantly, predisposing employees to work harder to prevent the surge of employee layoffs. Another inherent and tangible reason is social media. Doubtless, social media is characteristically the best place for users to instruct about their achievements. However, this trend predisposes people to feel pressure about others’ success and start working excessively long hours to gain validations from that online platforms.

Nonetheless, certain remedies can be embraced to tackle this phenomenon. The first incontrovertible and effectual approach is to savor accessibility to new knowledge and wisdom. Indubitably, continual learning is presumably the optimal method to maximize the employee’s aptitude, which makes an invaluable contribution to the productivity of the workforce, consequently, serving as a deterrent against the replacement of robots. The second unquestionable and discernible measure is reliance on the government. Were the government to implement more stringent regulations to curtail the working hours, the employee would probably have no alternation but to intensify their work duration, therefore evaluating both mental and physical health of employees.

In conclusion, while the tendency to work long hours can have its roots in the emergence of robots and social media, savoring accessibility to new knowledge and wisdom and depending on the government’s policy make this phenomenon more favorable and encouraging.