People who damage public property, such as buildings or statues should be required to do community service (such as cleaning parks) as a punishment rather than other forms of punishment (such as paying a fine or going to prison). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that public properties’ care commitments damaged by individuals should be punished to do community service instead of paying a fine or going to prison. Whereas, I partially agree with this notion, and the arguments will be articulated in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, the first and foremost reason that individuals should do community service is because just a small amount of fine won’t help the public property. To be more precise, ancient statues are important parts of history; if they are damaged, that will lose their originality. For instance, the Ajanta caves in Mumbai lost their original paintings and statues because individuals damaged them. Therefore, it is important to give individuals a strict punishment. Then, it will help the society conserve public property or statues.

Despite the obvious appeal, doing community service would not change much. To put it simply, taking a fine or punishment like prison will change people’s minds to destroy the public property. Apart from that, it will help to reconstruct the property. To cite an example, the rules of fine which is in Vadodara have strict rules of fine and strict punishment; if someone splits or destroys something, as a result, it is well-organized and clean public attraction. Subsequently, individuals think before doing anything if there is a strict punishment.

To conclude, I partially agree with individuals who destroy public buildings or statues who do community service due to the original value of property will be safe. However, with high amounts of fine and punishment, people will be afraid to commit these things.