People who damage public property, such as buildings or statues should be required to do community service (such as cleaning parks) as a punishment rather than other forms of punishment (such as paying a fine or going to prison). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly seen that people tend to spoil the public properties in various methods, such as spitting, loitering, sticking posters for advertisements and many more. To resolve this issue, some people opine that they should be punish by volunteer service for the society, rather than imposing fines and other punishments. I agree with this statement, but payment of fines have its own importance to save these properties.

On the one hand, collecting fines for the exploitation of public ventures, is helpful for economic side of any country as it is best way to raise funds from residents in an ethical way. All the money collected from fines not only be utilized in repair of existing properties but also used for introducing new facilities. Moreover, as money is crucial thing in individuals’ life, they suppose to strictly follow the rules and regulations, if government authorities clearly mention the financial charges at these facilities. Furthermore, allocation of imprisonment is quite beneficial to control negligence of persons, because it causes negative effect on overall life of any individual.

On the other hand, in case of minor damages, community service is more suitable option as it will teach them the importance of moral values and make them better human being. By involving in volunteering, their mindset about civilization and humanity, will change at significant level. Thus, for the inner change in citizens, these types of practices are helpful, because these provides the double- sided benefit for the society and government as well.

To conclude, People who misbehave with the public facilities should be punish by collecting fines and announcing imprisonment, in case of high level of exploitation. However, when there are minor damages, some community services should be allocated to them, so that they will learn from it and do not repeat the same in future.