People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life. What are the main problems people in cities face, and how can these problems be tackled? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a great number of daily life issues faced by people living in a modern city. In the following essay, I would like to discuss the main problems and come up with ideas to solve them. In my opinion, two most important challenges for inhabitants of large cities are traffic jams and high accommodation costs.

To begin with, overpopulation leads to traffic jams, which can be time-consuming and annoying. In addition, output from standing vehicles contributes to air pollution and leads to insufficient air quality. I genuinely believe that this problem can be solved by the government by developing the public transportation system to provide the alternative choice for cars. For example, in Moscow, which suffers from traffic jams significantly less than other world capitals, the subway is well developed, and many citizens prefer it rather than cars.

Secondly, another challenge for large cities is an expensive accommodation. On top of that, the apartment cost is sometimes higher that the sum of 10 annual salaries of an average citizen. For example, Hong Kong is the most expensive city in the world in terms of real estate. Actually, many people there have to rent their apartments for a lifelong time without the opportunity for the ownership. When it comes to solution, I think that new architectural technologies are the answer to the accommodation crisis. For instance, multi-level building can be applied in regions where the land is extremely expensive – it will save space and subsequently reduce the final cost. In fact, this approbation has already been tested in Chonqchin, the biggest city in the world, located in the Sichuan Province, China.

In conclusion, there is a number of challenges faced by the growth of large cities with heavy traffic and accommodation crisis being among them. However, the technology for facing most of them has already been developed. So this is generally a matter of putting effort into solving this problems, and governments have to pay enough attention to meet the needs of growing cities.