Physical education should be prioritized in schools to promote healthy lifestyles. To what extent do you agree with this statement ?

Some individuals believe that schools should focus on physical education to motivate students to follow a healthy lifestyle. I firmly agree with this statement and will offer my reasons below.

The skeptics of this belief may express their concern that engaging in physical activities can have an adverse impact on studying. Physical activities are generally known for the strenuous exercises that use a huge amount of students’ energy. Hence, students may feel too exhausted to study academic subjects after attending the P.E. classes, which negatively affects their academic performance in class. However, the energy required for studying usually stems from students’ health status, which means that if they are able-bodied enough, they will have more energy to conduct other activities. As a result, doing exercises through P.E. sessions at school can effectively improve their health.

Other reasons can justify why I concur with this notion. The first reason is that physical education in schools promotes active habits that can shape lifelong fitness routines. By participating in regular physical activities, students can develop an appreciation for exercise, making it more likely they’ll maintain active lifestyles as adults. This foundation encourages students to incorporate activities such as cycling, running, or gym workouts into their routines as they grow, supporting overall health and well-being throughout their lives. Another reason is that physical education can enable students who are passionate about sports or other physical activities to explore and develop their potential. Through structured P.E. programs, these students can gain confidence in their abilities, discover a sense of purpose, and enjoy the satisfaction of physical achievements. This focus also encourages students to pursue fitness as a lifestyle, which can lead to further opportunities, such as competitive sports or wellness-oriented careers. For instance, most tertiary schools in Vietnam often incorporate a variety of sports into the school curriculum, namely football, basketball and badminton and help sport-passionate students shape their career path relating to these sports. As a result, these students may pursue their sports careers, contributing to the success of the Vietnam Sports Federation in many tournaments.

In conclusion, while I recognize the reasons for opposing the priority of physical education in school curriculum, I wholeheartedly believe the benefits physical activities offer can eclipse the drawbacks.