Some people believe that criminal behavior has genetic causes. Others believe that it is circumstances that lead people to commit a crime. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that genetics is the reason for criminal behaviour. I, however, disagree with this, and believe that it is caused by different circumstances. This essay will discuss both views.

The main reasons for criminality are poverty and a bad social environment. Many poor people often try to steal food or money, which are necessary for them. As a result, these small things lead to more serious crimes in the future. In addition, the younger generation usually has these kinds of friends, who often present themselves as criminals. So, these things can teach teenagers to commit crimes. For instance, your friend can ask you to help him to sell some items which are prohibited because he thinks that it will be cool and nobody will catch him.

Others believe that genetics is the main reason for criminal behaviour. This is because people can be born with personal qualities such as aggression and curiosity, which are often associated with criminals. Despite this, people can change their behaviour during their lives, and change their reaction to some actions. For instance, if someone has curiosity, it can appear differently. In one way, he can try to steal, while in another way, he can start to get different knowledge.

In conclusion, although genetics is a possible reason to commit crimes because it produces “criminal qualities” such as aggression and curiosity, in my opinion, the main reason is circumstances, which may change people’s minds seriously.