Planting trees is very important for the environment. Some people says trees should be planted in the vacant areas of cities and towns, while other says housing facilities should be build instead. Do you agree or disagree ?

The jury is still out on whether the construction of new homes in underutilized urban areas is more vital than the creation of green spaces. Although there is no denying that, due to the growing population, the government should build more houses, I believe that maintaining eco-balance in cities is more crucial.

On the plus side, constructing housing facilities instead of green areas could be a smart fix to cater to a rapidly increasing urban population. For this reason, the government spares no expense in filling unused spaces with residential areas. To illustrate, if an average city park were replaced by several high-rises, it would provide shelter for roughly 1,000 people, for whom it would otherwise require 10 times as much countryside land with detached houses. However, despite this economic benefit, neglecting the importance of ecosystems could lead to significant losses.

On the downside, no matter how rapidly the population grows, it is still crucial to plant trees and revitalize empty areas by creating green zones wherever possible, so that the population is no longer exposed to heavily polluted air. Plants are a great shield against hazardous greenhouse gases released by cars and other city vehicles. Additionally, they are able to convert noxious gases into oxygen through the process of photosynthesis, thus ensuring clean air and better public health.

To conclude, despite the high demand for more housing to accommodate an expanding population, planting trees in underused urban areas is far more essential, as it plays a key role in reducing our carbon footprint