Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, it is more common to see plastic containers than the last few decades, especially in the food and beverage industry. Despite having several benefits, I firmly believe that using plastic containers offers more drawbacks.

Undeniably, there are several advantages of plastic containers produced in the food and beverage sector. Firstly, single-use plastic packaging, such as cups and containers, is less expensive than other materials, such as glass or metal. This helps companies save a lot of money on packaging and offer products at lower prices, keeping the cost of take-away products affordable for customers. Secondly, disposable containers are easy to carry and move because they do not weigh much. It is convenient for both business and customers, especially when transporting the food or drink.

However, the prevalence of single-use plastic packaging, particularly in the food and beverage industry, brings about more disadvantages. Firstly, it causes the long-term destruction to the environment. More and more countries are facing with a plastic pollution crisis, and the rivers, oceans, and landfills are filled with unrecyclable plastic waste. What is more, the pollution caused by plastic waste negatively affect wildlife, destroying its habitant. For example, it is known that many aquatic animals are dying as result of marine filled with plastic tableware, such as bottles or containers manufactured for drink and food.

In conclusion, while several advantages exist, I personally believe that plastic tableware, especially produced for the food and drink, have more drawbacks, such as having a negative impact to the environment and damaging wildlife’s habitant.