Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

A variety of businesses, especially in the restaurant sector use plastic dishes more often than in previous years. This trend has become popular due to its convenience in using and saving time relatively to price. However, I firmly believe that the disadvantages, such as health problems and the harm that it gives to the environment outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, there are certainly several benefits to this trend. First of all, plastic is one of the easiest ways to pack food or drinks due to its convenient use. People often buy food in this type of package when they are away from home and it can be thrown away after using, while dishes which are made from glass or ceramic, usually, have no such opportunity. Moreover, plastic is a cheap material, therefore, businesses use it for making their product affordable for customers. If they used expensive materials for covering the food, businesses will lose the majority of their audience due to high prices.

However, using plastic in the culinary sector brought about far more disadvantages. Implementing this material leads to awful harm for health. Firstly, microplastic with food goes into a person’s intestines and it may cause several diseases. As a result, money that was saved on the package in the short-term, then it will be spent on medical treatment. Secondly, that is known that plastic decomposes around 1000 years and has terrible consequences on the environment. Recent research in the UK, showed that the reason for climate change is 22% because of plastic trash. These changes again have a bad effect on health.

To conclude, despite the convenience in using plastic in food services for customers, this trend has awful results on the health of nations and globally effects on problems in the environment.