Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The use of plastic containers has become more and more common over the last few decades, particularly in the food and beverage industry. Personally, I think that the drawbacks of plastic use far outweigh any benefits it may bring.

The two main advantages of plastic packaging are the cost and convenience. Single-use plastic packaging, such as cups and containers used in the food and beverage industry, are generally very cheap to manufacture, and this helps to keep the cost of take-away products affordable for consumers. Single-use plastic packaging is also very convenient. These days, most people often have very busy schedules and are always on the go, and quite often need to buy take-away food and drinks. Plastic containers allow people to maintain their busy lives and demanding schedules while generally being able to eat and drink what they please.

However, the costs and conveniences of single-use plastic packaging are far outweighed by the long-term destruction it causes to the environment and to people’s health. Nowadays, many countries around the world are facing a plastic pollution crisis(8), with oceans, rivers, and landfills full of unrecyclable plastic waste(9) which takes hundreds and thousands of years to break down. Meanwhile, millions of aquatic animals are dying every year from ingesting plastic waste floating in the planet’s waterways, while millions of people around the world are suffering the health effects of breathing in toxic fumes from the burning of plastic waste.

In conclusion, the effect that plastic packaging is having on the planet is devastating, and unnecessary. For a tiny extra cost, businesses could move to using packaging made from recyclable or biodegradable materials. Furthermore, individuals can start to make a habit of carrying their own reusable containers, such as reusable coffee cups.