Plastic pollution has become a major environmental issue worldwide. Why is plastic pollution increasing? What solutions can help address this problem?

Plastic pollution has significantly increasing a serious environmental problem around the world. There are some underlying factors behind this trend. However, some practical measures could be taken to resolve the problems associated with it.

On the one hand, there are some causes of increasing plastic pollution. The main argument is ever-increasing demand for plastic items. That is, over-consumption of products is global production of single-use plastics has considerably grow, such as packaging, cutlery from plastic and other plastic items. Another reason is improper waste management. We face lack of recycling systems that is inadequate collection infrastructure and lack of special recycling bins. As a result, people throw away plastic waste into landlife. Therefore, it can be said the mentioned reasons are the main causes of the trend.

On the other hand, this increasing tendency can be mitigated in numerous ways. One of them is reduce single-use plastics. Governments should implement bans or taxes on items like plastic bags. In this case, we will encourage the use of reusable alternatives and less plastic pollution. Another solution is that governments should improve the recycling system and they provide special recycling bins across every single neighbourhood. In addition to this, they should educate communities on the importance of environmental impact of plastic waste. They should raise public awareness about the importance of environmental sustainability. Therefore, the level of plastic pollution around the world will be significantly reduced.

To conclude, ever-increasing demand for single-use plastics one of the reason why is plastic pollution increasing. Nevertheless, we need to reduce plastic use and such as tougher fines can help solve this issue.