Plastic waste has become a major environmental issue worldwide. What problems are associated with plastic waste? What measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Plastic is a type of material made of petroleum. Its area of usage ranges from market pockets to almost every kind of clothing. As the population has been growing across the world, plastic waste has become a major environmental issue for almost all countries. There are a few problems stemming from waste plastics and solutions to cope with this problem.

To begin with, plastic waste does not biodegrade naturally in the environment for almost 400 years, meaning that each piece of plastic waste scattered around will be passed to the next generation. Considering the amount of plastic produced each year and its devastating effects on the environment, the issue can be comprehended more easily. In order to solve this problem, plastic waste ought to be assembled from public places, divided thoroughly into bins, and recycled in specific centers.

Furthermore, plastic is a toxic substance, and when it is left in the soil, it easily permeates into groundwater or yields because of heat and other causes. The toxic chemicals then mix with our food supplies and edible sources. Finally, people digest contaminated food and water coming from beneath the soil. According to statistics, cancer patients have been increasing due to contaminated waters. To tackle this problem, the usage of plastic should be reduced dramatically with the assistance and promotion of authorities. The government can give incentives to companies and individuals who prefer to use materials instead of plastics.

To sum up, plastic production is surging across the globe, and this consumption has already become a major catastrophy for humanity. To cope with this issue, plastic waste can be properly recycled, and the government ought to take the initiative and provide incentives for materials other than plastics.