Playing computer games is bad for children, whereas others say that it has positive effects. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Everyone’s activities nowadays mostly involve technological devices like computers, including children who use them for daily gaming. This essay will consider the positive and negative effects of using computers for gaming purposes.

In regard to the positives, computer games put children in a safe playing environment and increase their creativity. As the main activity of younger individuals is playing, having them do it in front of a device is way safer than letting them go somewhere the parents are unable to supervise. Most of the time when a child plays a game, they have an exact focus on something, which prevents them from going to random places to get someone to play with. Moreover, digital playable applications allow players to be more creative by triggering more brain activity. Applications designed for this specific aim are very common, like Zuma, which requires its players to match colors and prepare a strategy to avoid losing. Other puzzle-genre applications that involve arranging letters into words and stacking blocks also exemplify creative-building digital programs for younger ones. With this in mind, computer games surely help parents in taking care of their children by keeping them under supervision and growing their creative senses.

Following that aspect, there are also negative effects, such as dependency on the programs, which may lead to the risk of post-playing unpleasant behavior. Being over-reliant on the applications to play with may cause children to be incapable of being away from the device, and this, most of the time, makes them behave badly toward others in order to get the game back. It has been very common to see children’s tantrum actions nowadays as a result of this dependency. Thus, bad behavior after becoming too dependent on the game is an instance of how it negatively affects younger people.

In conclusion, the increased ability in creative thinking and the safer playing situations are positive aspects of computer games, but the risk of bad behavior after relying on them also exists.