Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

A major burden facing the Global Environmental Protection Agency is the pollution of water bodies essential for the survival of both animal and man kind. One major culprit is the improper disposal of Pharmaceuticals and Personal Care Products (PPCPs). The presence of these pollutants in water bodies has promoted antibiotic resistance and other negative effects on both aquatic and human life.

Pharmaceuticals generally known as drugs are of great importance to man and livestock but if poorly disposed, could generate a health hazard for both man and animals. Personal care products such as perfumes contain chemicals that are harmful for ingestion by both man and animals. In a U.S. Geological Survey study, some scientists discovered that pharmaceuticals such as antibiotics, ibuprofen, caffeine, carbamazepine, acetaminophen and personal care products like perfumes, antiseptics, detergents and antibacterial soaps were found in rivers, streams and in drinking water supplies. They explained that un-utilized products flushed in the toilets or discarded into the drainage finds its way to water bodies. Another source of these pollutants in water bodies is from manufacturing plants, direct discharge of treated and untreated wastewater from hospitals and pharmaceutical industries.

One significant impact of the presence of pharmaceuticals and personal care products in rivers and seas is the emergence of antibiotic resistance both in man and animals which can lead to a global emergency. Other negative effects include behavioral and reproductive system changes of aquatic organisms for example, endocrine disrupting compounds can alter the hormones of fishes resulting in secondary sexual characteristics and potentially resulting in reproductive failure.

In conclusion, water bodies necessary for the survival of man and animals can be adversely contaminated by pharmaceutical wastes and personal care products if not properly disposed. The end result of this act includes hormonal mutations and antibiotic resistance.