Poor infrastructure hinders under-developed countries from progressing and modernising. Some people think that this should be the first problem tackled by foreign aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

While infrastructure plays a crucial role in contributing to countries’ development, poor-quality ones may bring several challenges and hinder underdeveloped nations from progressing and modernizing. Some people argue that infrastructure should be a priority of investment by foreign aid. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this statement, which will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, poor infrastructure might have several detrimental impacts on people. Poor-quality roads and buildings may cause a variety of challenges that interrupt the development of different significant fields, including education and health services. For instance, without schools and educational facilities, people would have fewer chances to study, and the teaching methods would be difficult. As a result, the national literacy rate will fall, directly affecting the growth of white-collar occupations. Moreover, bad infrastructure may expose people to a range of safety concerns and harms. Following the shortage of healthcare facilities, people who have been injured by construction are unable to receive treatments, resulting in a decline in the labor force.

Moreover, high-quality infrastructure is one of the most significant factors contributing to the national economic growth. With modern and well-established facilities and construction, the selling and buying operations may go easier, leading to high efficiency works and creating greater opportunities for development. For example, with new roads and highways, customers may now receive products sent from China to Vietnam in as little as 2-3 days. Furthermore, renovating and modernizing infrastructure would open up more opportunities to enhance international relationships. If a country constructs roads or places connecting the two nations, this line will serve as an exchange tool while also strengthening the bond, promoting commerce abroad, and creating more job opportunities.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that infrastructure plays a crucial role in supporting a nation’s development, thus foreign aid should be invested in it.