Popular events like the football worldcup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions ad releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

Majority of the people believes that great sports events have crucial role in making relation better among nations of the word. In my opinion, some popular international sports games play significant role in détente in relations among nations and showcase peoples love for their countries. Because great occasions like Football World Cup and Cricket World Cup etc. mainly play crucial role in bringing nations together.

There are a number of reasons for that. First, sportsmen of different nations come close in such occasions to support their national team. Such big players have great impact on their fan’s choices and opinions. They interact with each other in a peaceful lovely way. Example of this is the cricket teams of India and Pakistan. People of both the states love watching India-Pakistan match. Spectators of both the countries demonstrate love and support for each other.

Second, such events provide an opportunity to perform sports diplomacy, in which, leaders or representatives of the conflicting states to come closer and discuss their issues. It can bring leadership of both the sides to the table and talks. It has happened in the past between India and Pakistan in 1980s when relations between both the countries were deteriorating due nuclear bomb problem. Pakistan’s president Zia-ul-Haq visited India at a time when Pakistan-India cricket match series was going on.

To conclude, it has proved several times in the past that popular sports bring conflicting nations close and reduce international tensons. In such events, people show great love and support for their respective teams.