Population in cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects of this? What solutions can gou give to maintain a good quality of life in urban areas?

These days, population growth has become an increasingly common problem across the globe. While the relocation of people from rural areas to cities is the chief reason driving this problem, through improving public services in the countryside and developing satellite cities and regional areas we could handle to address this issue.

To start with, a mass rural-to-urban migration is the primary reason. Unquestionably, living in a capital city offers greater opportunities both personally and professionally. In comparison to rural areas where a substantial number of people fail to find a well-paid and stable job, moving to cities often seems the best solution that contribute to a personal growth. Furthermore, there is an increasing tendency that human beings usually drawn to a luxurious life in pursuit of not feeling themselves excluded from ‘rich’ individuals and better living standards. The bottom line is that these limited opportunities and strong personal aspirations push people to move cities. This influx of people, in turn, results in overall diminished quality of life and environmental issues alongside the health concerns.

However, the issue of population growth can be reversed through thoughtful interventions, such as improved public services and development of satellite cities. Firstly, tackling the existing problems in the countryside can make a world of difference. The government plays a crucial role in identifying what are the chief triggers that drive people to leave countryside. Once being aware of underlying factors, investing sufficient funds to enhance public services and road-transport infrastructure is a wise approach. Secondly, moving to and residing in capital cities potentially bring about overcrowding, thereby reducing air quality and posing a threat to citizen’s well-being. However, creating greater employment opportunities in regional areas or encouraging businesses to settle in countryside through offering financial incentives would be a viable strategy to redistribute population growth, which as a result could maintain better quality of life both in urban and rural areas.

To conclude, while with the rise of populations around the world environmental and health problems are emerging, an improved public infrastructure alongside encouraging business relocation would not only relieve congestion in major cities, but also improve overall quality of life.