Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss advantage and disadvantage.

Growing population in developing countries has a challenge of food security. Individuals have started to adopt genetically modified crops to enhance the growth of cereals. In this essay we will look at the benefits and drawbacks of this approach.

To start with, Increasing the population in the developing countries, also consuming more food. To grow more food people use GM crops techniques which increase the growth of crops. It also increases farmer productivity. Farmers also produce more food on the same amount of land. GM crops can lower production costs for farmers, making agriculture more affordable and sustainable.For example hybrid wheat crop seeds grow early in comparison to normal crops seed. And also fertilized wheat crops look more fresh than natural crops.

In contrast, If people consume GM foods for long-term, then they may cause their health issues. Because GM crops do not have all the nutrients which the human body needs. Seeds are produced by large companies, So farmer become dependent on them. Also farmers use chemical fertilizer and pesticides to grow GM crops, which are harmful for our environment. For example, farmers use zinc sulphate in their fields which is harmful for our health and also it reduces the soil fertility.

In conclusion, as seen in the essay. The adoption of hybrid crops rather than natural crops to produce more foods has some advantages and disadvantages. As it increases the productivity of farmers but at the same time, it affects our health and environment. It also reduces the soil fertility.