Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic. University education should be restricted to the very best academic students, rather than being available to a large proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. Write at least 250 words.

In the past, tertiary education was limited to a smaller group who were the most academic students. Today, however, many more young adults have the possibility of going to university, and I think that this is a much better situation for several reasons.

First of all, equal opportunities should be provided to all individuals who wish to pursue higher education. For example, if higher education becomes more accessible, a larger proportion would be able to fulfill their potential and achieve success. Furthermore, for younger people to succeed in any particular field, they need the knowledge and skills that university offers. Without a degree, chances for career advancement could be tremendously reduced. Another point worth mentioning is that participation in higher education can contribute to the development of critical thinking and personal growth. As a result, society benefits from a more highly educated population.

In conclusion, I partly disagree with the statement because I believe everyone should have the opportunity to enrol at university and be able to develop their skills and knowledge to widen their potential and growth. For certain careers it is necessary to have a specialised degree. Therefore, if more individuals have the chance to graduate and get a degree, more job openings will be available to them. It is not only of importance for young people to grow in terms of their individual development, but doing so would also contribute to society as a whole. Nevertheless, specific admission requirements are necessary to ensure that students are prepared for the demands placed upon them by academic study.