“Prevention is better than cure “. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

Some people hold the opinion that it is highly necessary to follow precautions since it is expensive to research and treat illnesses. While I admit that prevention is better than cure, I agree that it is not always possible to ward off some diseases without scientific researches.

To commence with, there are lots of illnesses on the earth which can be prevented with the help of proper hygienic practices. To cite an example, Dengue is a deadly disease which effects blood cells of human body. However, it can be avoided through careful management of waste and installation of mosquito meshes in living areas. If people neglect to do these steps, they are more likely to get infected by the disease. Therefore, it is vital to take precautions in order to stay safe from some diseases.

However, there is ample daily evidence that it is difficult to combat a few infections even after being extremely careful. In such cases, there is hardly any other alternative except working on a new medicine. For instance, a huge population across the world got affected by the novel coronavirus. Despite the fact that most people use masks and sanitizers, the virus has managed to infect many of them. In the case of such pandemics, it is quintessential to do thorough research even if it needs excessive resources for the benefit of protecting humans from going extinct.

To conclude, although people must be careful, it is the responsibility of authorities to invest in research when infections cannot be prevented by following precautions.