Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Countries worldwide rely on prison to combat the issue of crime, but some argue that an improved education on citizens may be a more practical approach to resolve the issue. I mostly agree with this argument, as imprisonment entails some significant drawbacks such as social isolation of prisoners and the resultant risk of recriminalization.

Arguably, imprisonment functions as a deterrent against criminals, as even in contemporary society, a history of imprisonment is viewed negatively. For instance, in many countries, an imprisonment record needs to be written on resume when an individual apply for work, and most employers hesitate to offer a job to the person, prioritizing their safety and corporate reputation. Being denied of an employment opportunity alone indirectly inculcate the risk of their action in the mind of potential criminals.

However, one aspect to take into consideration is that social exclusions increase the risk of recriminalization. When a criminal was sent to prison and spend a number of years, their communication and vocational skills will be undermined, forcing some of them to commit a crime again out of frustration. In fact, in Japan, the rate of individuals imprisoned for the second time in their lives is increasing, and reports find that the cause of imprisonment stems from their inability to be employed. Since employment plays an important role in one’s pride and the means to be connected with their community, it can be argued that expansive education to ensure citizens can have a place within society could function better as a deterrent.

In conclusion, while it is understandable that prison, or imprisonment, is a fast way to prevent potential criminals from commiting a crime, I would argue that its drawbacks outweigh the advantage, as the risk of weakened social skills and recriminalization should not be ignored.