Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Imprisonment is taking a dominant position of tackling perpetrators in many nations, whilst another efficacious solution is to educate those with a better strategy of educational training. From my own view, I partly agree with this given statement explained in this essay.

Initially, academic teaching appears to be a long-term effort, also being a vehicle of acquiring knowledge with everyday life respects. With a widespread endorsement of education, it is apparent that its role can address the deep-rooted causes such as poverty and unemployment in the current state and open the door to job opportunities. Since individuals maintain their own stable occupations, the crime rate would considerably decline. Teaching morals and accountabilities, indeed, is key to precluding them from committing criminal behaviours before its occurrence. What is more, governments must invest a large budget to operate whole national prison systems, it costs each country a substantial amount of state expenditure. Root problems also have no removal probability, hence repeat offenders after re-entering society.

Yet, prison has been prioritized and adopted as a remedial solution for punishing wrongdoers over time, even though the former has a likelihood of sustainably tackling the tip of the iceberg from the latter. To exemplify this, imprisonment permits offenders to be isolated from society during their sentence duration in order to train them and avoid posing a threat to the public, especially violent criminals. Prisoners in general are obligated to form law-and-order acts, adhering to regulations. Furthermore, punitive training for them is totally employed to maintain imprisoned areas.

From my perspective, educating and punishing should be combined for punitive provisions. In fact, wrongdoers as well as all humans have rights to be educated and differentiate right from wrong. Prison is the short-term solution and education is the long-term one. However, for dangerous individuals, governments must address them through the former rather than the latter.