prison is the most effective punishment for people who break the laws. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

There are a considerable number of people who opine that prison is the best punishment for people who carry out criminal actions. I partially agree because sometimes time served in prison does not stop criminals from doing it again.

First of all, prison really can help offenders, so they can grasp out their mistakes and get on the right track. Moreover, what prison is really beneficial in is that it can educate them and encourage them to think about consequences. I mean that they lose a lot in prison: family , years of life and others. Hence, according to a recent article, a huge number of criminals became exemplary people. Therefore, prison need to be considered as productive way of punishment.

On the other hand , sometimes prison can be ineffective for major crimes. For crimes like killing and robbery more brutal methods must be used. The more terrible the crime, the worse the punishment should be. To illustrate, for crimes like violence сapital punishment needs to be used. Because no matter how long the prison term is, there is no guarantee that the criminal will not commit it again. Therefore , prison can not help to decrease the amount of crimes.

To conclude, although prison is effective in dealing with dangerous crimes, it is not always the most effective.