prison is the most effective punishment for people who break the laws. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In contemporary discourse, the question of whether imprisonment is truly beneficial has emerged as a matter of intense debate, polarizing both scholars and the public alike. Some people contend that undergoing imprisonment is not effective. While there are valid counterarguments, I firmly subscribe to the view that imprisonment is efficacious for both individuals and society.

First of all, although many individuals believe that incarceration is not effective, not only does prison maintain public order, but it also implements rehabilitation programs for people who have perpetrated an offense. In other words, there are no other measures to deal with criminals without prison. For instance, it helps the police officers to deter the rate of crime and protect the population from dangerous offenders.

Furthermore, some argue that the authorities should establish new rules for offenders instead of incarcerating them. However, these kinds of methods are not reliable. Additionally, many sentences are determined by the judiciary and executive branches. If their crime is not serious, they might get a light punishment like a fine, but if they killed someone, they might also face the death penalty.

In the final analysis, although many people do not agree with this perspective and they do not comply with the rules which are established by the government, the authorities and other personnel are forced to enforce compliance.