Q. Some people say that web content should be used to instruct children. Others think that it is not helpful in an educational setting. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a common belief that web content should not be utilized to instruct children. However, there is a more persuasive argument that people should leverage web content as a tool for their lessons because it would increase the attractiveness of learning.

On the one hand, some people object to educating children by contents on the Internet as it would enable them to build negative characters uncontrollably. Often, countries do not have strict policies about controlling web content, which gives rise to the inappropriate Internet’s content. When children come across that type of information, they are likely to mimic unsuitable actions. To illustrate that, a study has shown that when individuals under 18 watch violent videos, they tend to be emotionless after growing up. These people are possibly cold-hearted, even when facing with emotional-need situations, such as family situations.

Nevertheless, the diverse of content on web would make educating much easier. On the Internet, there are various types of content, such as videos, articles, images. Putting children in a new educational setting instead of traditional teaching could awake the excitement of them by using numerous kinds of web content. For instance, it has been proven that the interest in learning of individuals are stimulated much simplier when they are required to participate in a quiz created on Kahoot – a well-known website, compared to old-fashioned way of teaching. This result is also similar to other types of web content when comparing to outmoded teaching way.

To sum up, while it is evident that web content is not suitable for education, it is undeniable that people should serve content on the Internet as a useful tool for instruction.