Rates of diabetes and obesity are increasing in may countries. Some people think that governments should ban soft drinks and sugary snacks from schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and examples from your own experience.

Many countries struggle with increasing obesity and other health issues that have core in sweet drinks such as sodas, as well as sugary snacks. These health issues are nowadays visible between young people and children so much, that many people want countries to ban certain foods in schools.

By banning sugary snacks and soft drinks, governments in many countries would create groups of people that either agree or disagree with this solution.

I believe that parents are the most responsible when it comes to their children’s health. Every parent has and wants to have a different style of parenting. Some let their kids eat whatever they want because they believe it’s not as harmful for a growing human when they also move a lot and exercise, while others are very strict when it comes to eating a lot of sweet treats, and they rather substitute it with healthier options such as fruit.

However, removing these types of snacks and drinks can definitely help to prevent illnesses such as diabetes. Kids get candy and other sweet treats in schools a couple of times a year in various countries. These include holidays such as Saint Patric’s Day or Christmas. But there are ways of switching these types of candy for healthier options without parents being unhappy. Schools would be able to switch these types of snacks for example for fruit wraps, or home made treats made by the parents.

On the other side a lot of people would be disappointed if banning sugary snacks and soft drinks would also mean that they cannot pack them for kid’s lunch either. As mentioned before, parents should have the right to decide what their children consume, as many of them believe that balanced meals are important and they’re capable of regulating their kid’s diet.