Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Reading for pleasere can improve creativity and linguistic abilities better than watching Television. To a certain extent, i disagree with this view. While reading can be effective for developing language, I think that watching TV can be more successful for stimulating imagination and language skills.

On the one hand, I admit that books are important for people’s mindset. Most of people use them as source for learning. They can do it for science or simply for pleasure(novels,stories). For example I have a lot of books about biology and some of them are in English. It means I can learn both biology and English at the same time. However, when we read, we don’t engage our listening skills. Some native English speakers can not read or write letters but they can speak fluently in English.

On the other hand, I think we can see a TV in all houses in both developing and developed countries. Since the 20th and 21st centuries, a lot of people watch TV or watch TV programs on mobile phones. There is a wide range of content available—such as news, shows, films, and more. In my opinion, even just one of these elements can be appeal to everyone. People can both learn a language and watch TV for pleasure. For example, I watch political news on some TV channels from the USA. I get information and improve my English —like a bonus. While watching TV, you improve your listening skills. If you go to the UK or the USA, people will not write words to communicate with you; they will speak, and you have to understand them. Conversation and watching TV are the best ways for that.

In conclusion, people can improve their language skills through both reading books and watching TV. However, since reading is less necessary for communication than listening, I believe watching TV is the more effective choice.