Recent research has shown that media like the Internet and TV have a greater influence over people's lives than politicians. Which do you consider to be the grater influence?

In recent years, mass media is reported to become more and more popular. Therefore, there is a common belief that it impacts better on people’s lives than politicians. However, I am partly against this notion as the government has better influence.

On the one hand, the political system has the power to implement policies that directly affect the citizen’s life. To illustrate, good welfare benefits such as unemployment and study pay assist people significantly in addressing financial problems. These people, particularly in developed nations, will reduce the pressure and improve the standard quality of their life. Additionally, some notorious problems such as crime existing in society nowadays usually are solved by governmental organizations’ powerful compulsory laws. Thus, the stability and safety of people’s lives are controlled and maintained severely.

On the other hand, frequent access to mass media by young people is the major reason why they are strongly affected by it. Specifically, due to influences of film and music industry in which these individuals mostly are interested, they might develop their thoughts or behaviors based on that of celebrities. Hence, if media and influencers show toxic online merchandise or comments, the young will be affected adversely. For instance, many children and teenagers, who are allowed to use online social platforms early without any control from their parents, tend to be disupted from studying and behave terribly. Nevertheless, goverment can limit these problems by enacting policies such as protecting children on mass media.

To conclude, the role of political leaders is bigger compared with that of social network in impacting on public lives. However, I believe political figures should limit the influences of celebrity and proctect young generation on online media.