Remote work has become increasingly common in recent years. Some argue this impairs work habits generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the massive amount of remote work these days, most people think that this work style weakens the work habit in daily lives. In my opinion, this is not true. Work habits are subjective and can be flexible to an individual’s personal choices.

By working remotely, people can choose the way they do their work based on their personal choice and principle. Work habits can be shaped through people’s personal vision in order for them to work comfortably. For example, people who work remotely can complete their task however they want as long as they meet the targets and goals of the company without sticking to the formal rule of 9-5 jobs. Some employees work best at night and some work productively in the early morning. By working remotely, people can work based on their personal choice of time frame and be flexible with their schedule.

Speaking of flexibility, having to work remotely means that you may adjust and organize your work duration as you want. A father may have more time with his children by working remotely from home and choose the time of his work. This will give the workers, especially workers with family, more quality time than the average 9-5 workers.

Even better, working remotely has shown its impact to give work-life balance to the employee. If an employee wants to work from different places sometimes, they are able to work from cafes, parks, libraries, or any other places they want without being restricted by only working in the office. By adjusting the schedule and work duration, the worker can spend more time alone outside of work whenever they need a break and come back to be even more productive than before. Even though working remotely means that you have to fix and arrange your own schedule, some people might be counterproductive and do their task close to their deadline, this will give an overwhelming sensation to the workers.

Working remotely does not entirely dishevel an individual’s work habit like some people argue it is. As long as those people follow through their schedule and make a detailed to-do list of their work tasks, they won’t likely to pull an all nighter and become counterproductive, thus destroying their work ethics, instead, they become more productive and balancing their life-work lifestyle.