Research has shown that spending much less time in the office can reduce the use of energy (for example, electricity, gas). Thus, some companies close for some days a week. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In fact, much research has defined that spending less time in the office can reduce the use of energy like electricity or gas, leading to the closing of some companies for some days a week. This can bring both advantages and drawbacks.

On the one hand, when companies allow their employees work home, it can cause the stagnation at work, and the inclined productivity. When people stay at home too much, they may feel dependent and do not want to go to the office. Additionally, not all roles adapt well to compressed schedules. Some employees may feel rushed or overwhelmed trying to complete tasks in fewer days. For example, in Asia, many companies permit their staffs work home. As the result, the employees’ collaboration and communication seem to appear a distanced gap between them.

On the flip side, when companies approve their employees working at home, they will bring benefits both for them and their staff members such as the environmental protection and their staffs’ well-being. Many companies which are under pressure to meet environmental targets, reducing office hours is a relatively easy and impactful key for them to solve. When industries use less energy, they will reduce carbon footprint because they do not have to burn fossil fuels and waste natural energy sources. For instance, a four-day workweek could reduce the UK’s annual carbon footprint by up to 21.3%, according to recent research. This is largely due to decreased energy use in office buildings and fewer commuting days. Moreover, when the employees are permitted to stay at home, they may have more time for their family and themselves. From that, they can also heal their mind and personalities. Additionally, they can also strengthen family bonds and relative connection.

In conclusion, spending less time in the office can reduce the use of energy like electricity, gas makes some companies close for some days a week, which can bring both benefits and disadvantages and its aim all to companies and their employees also.