Research has shown that spending much less time in the office can reduce the use of energy (for example, electricity, gas). Thus, some companies close for some days a week. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The reduction of office working time is increasingly viewed as a practical solution of decreasing energy consumption and promoting environmental sustainability. Therefore, many companies are now utilizing this trend by reducing working days a week. There are some notable drawbackslike loosing workflow, reducing salary , while I belive the advantages overweigh the disadvantages.

The first benefit of less time in office is that it provides mental well-being of workers.For instance, individuals can use their free time to take rest. After a stressful week of work, their body needs a break. Therefore, workers can use that time to reduce stress and for relaxiation. Consequently, it will prepare them to focus more in in the next workdays.

Furthermore, employees can focus their personal life. As we know, working is stressful, job holders have to continue their daily tasks continiously from morning to evening. As a result, they do not get enough time for enjoyment and to focus on their hobbies. Thus, their life become boredom as they continue their work-flow like a robot. In contraast, office workers can enjoy few moment in their comfort zone, if companies keep closed for fewdays a week.

However, there are some minor issues of lessenting workdays. Firstly, employees can loose their workflow as they enjoying during workdays. Secondly, Some companies will intend to reduce the salary of their workers. Which will turned as a major issue for many individuals. What’s more, the targated projects cannot be prepared before deadline, and it will create a mass scenario.

To conclude, althouth there are few disadvantages of shortened workweek, however this can also have benefits which not only assist the workers but more to the company they serve for, and so it is certainly a worthwhile dessision.