Intelligence is the most important quality for a leader. Do you agree or disagree ?

Opinions are divided on whether the most crucial quality of a leader is intelligence. I disagree, as, while it is valuable, it pales in comparison to one’s perseverance and social skills.

Intelligent leaders can apply their advanced intellectual skills in various ways that benefit their organizations. For example, they can devise tactics to capitalize on new opportunities, overcome temporary challenges and safeguard members in their teams. Also, the fact that many famous leaders in businesses and governments, such as Bill Gates and Angela Lansbury, seem to possess high IQ is thought to lend further credence to the given emphasis on intelligence. However, it should be noted that not all intelligent individuals can become leaders, and even the aforementioned famed leaders do not attribute their success to solely their intelligence.

On the other hand, I contend that the abilities to persevere and create interpersonal connections are more instrumental to effective leadership. Regarding the former, it is important because everyone will inevitably have to experience failures in life, which can be disheartening. This means that, those who have bright minds but fail to overcome disappointments are less likely to succeed, while their counterparts, being who may be less intellectually gifted but more resilient against hardship, can do so, especially when they can learn from their experience. As for social skills, these are more important than intelligence as they enable one leaders to forge strong connections. After all, there is no leader without supporters, and intelligence alone does not compel loyalty.

In conclusion, being intelligent is important to leadership; however, it is not as crucial as other qualities, such as perseverance and interpersonal skills.