Intelligence is the most important quality for a leader. Do you agree or disagree ?

In recent years, there is an ongoing believe that intelligence has become the most valuable and important quality of a leader, which is the view I totally disagree with, since, qualities such as resilience and empathy are on a topper level.

From my point of view, working with intelligence is really crucial, because people who are culturally intelligent can know how to work according to a plan, meaning strategically . They know when and where to take action. Thus, people such as Elon Musk is one of the most successful individuals that people have ever seen.

However, this is only a part of the picture as working can also be chaotic at some points. To begin with, although intelligence can play a huge role, a person – leader, manager – should not prioritize only their knowledge. This is mainly because in the workplace everything can happen especially, arguments while discussing something. In this situation intelligence can help, but partly therefore, such leading figures have to show their temper, and avoid arguments, finding solutions to limit both sides face.

Another ability that leaders should have is personality. Leaders should not be the figures who always seem serious, and even sometimes cruel. They have to be people who can not only know how to work smart but also support their employees on every step – which is a rare quality nowadays. This is because, everyone including leading figures work for their daily survival. As a result empathy towards staff is easily disappearing.

To conclude, I am in favor of a view that intelligence cannot be the most imperative quality as empathy and resilience are also valuable.