Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning a practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious arguement advocating that the educational system focuses more on teaching both elementary school and colleges less practical courses and concentrates more on main idea. i am indifferent to this notion since these institutes play an indispensable role on the student growth and development.

on one hand, it is undeniable that the educational system have rely more on theory than practicals however, institutions who teaches base on facts, makes communication essential for student and interraction becomes fundamental. it also foster faster learning and develop critical thinking. for instance, in nigeria 70% of pupils who were interviewed during their school seminar all said that theoritical knowledge is more versatile.

on the other hand, practical teacher majorly deals on retention, it goes beyond listening and writing. futhermore it improves motivation in student, for example student learning becomes less monotonous and their learning will be much active. it enhances team work and social skills through group practical work. practicals prepares secondary school student and higher institution pupils for the workforce by providing raw experience in realistic scenerious.

in conclusion, while critical, practical teaching should be balanced with theoritical knowledge to ensure a comprehensive understanding of the subject matter, it will translate abstract leaning.