Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning a practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a common opinion, that not enough practical skills are taught in all levels of education. While many people think, that practical skills are more useful and more time should be spent on learning them, I do not agree with this statemant, thinking, that theoretical knoweadge is the baseline of its practical usage.

On the one hand, a little part of theoretical facts is used in everyday life. At first glance, remembering facts or solving theoretical problems can seem less important, than practical skills. This point of view is reasonable, because practical skills are useful everywhere, in various situations, starting from everyday life or difficult or dangerous situations and finishing with using these skills at work.

On the other hand, I agree, that theoretical knowleadge and remembering facts trains our memory, developes analytical thinking and brainstorming skills. While certain facts may be not used directly, they create a background knowleadge, which surely helps making everyday desicions. This is especially true for people having technical profession, because learning only a solution to a certain problem will limit their abilities of solving different, not similar ones. At the same time, having reach theoretical baseline will help think of different approaches of solving the task and come closer to the solution, even if the problem is completly new. That is why I agree, that the majority of time during studies should be spent on learning theory or remembering facts.

In conclusion, while many people think, the majority of time should be spent on learning practical skills, I disagree with this, because theoretical knowleadge creates a powerful baseline which will be helpful in both theoretical and practical challanges.