Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning a practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

The Society argues that nowadays, students have access to a wealth of theoretical materials and facts, yet their practical skills often suffer as a result. This essay fully agrees with this statement and will provide relevant comparisons and examples.

First of all, any field of study is meaningless without practical experience, and therefore does not ensure development at all levels of education. For instance, in the field of sports management, every student may understand body structure and various exercises for improving muscle strength. However, in real-life situations, there are numerous complications, such as the need for an individualized approach for each person, different solutions depending on athletes’ injuries, and, of course, the inevitability of mistakes. This is why experience is crucial for every student.

While students should focus more on practical skills, gaining such experience often requires equipment for various situations, which can be uncomfortable and complicated to organize. For example, a future coach needs to regularly visit a gym to learn more about muscle functions by working with experienced bodybuilders. However, studying theory and facts can often replace these challenges through a variety of paper tasks or homework, which are also particularly useful but not as practical on a daily basis. These methods are more convenient; they do not require additional effort and can streamline some aspects of studying.

To sum up, although learning theory is undoubtedly helpful, practical skills remain in high demand and would significantly enhance student development.