Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, the radical changes of technology enable enterprises to take place online communication. In my perspective, this trend has brought more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, online communication could have certain disadvantages. When conferences or discussions are carried out wirelessly, the participants could get into trouble with an internet connection. This would interrupt the meeting and lead to working inefficiency among both the company and employees. Another demerit of communication technology in the workplace is the possibility of cyber attacks. Hackers put the company at risk by intruding into the intranet system to steal data and confidential files.

Such aforementioned disadvantages can be addressed effectively, making them pale in comparison with the advantages of using technology for business purposes. Firstly all the participants should have good preparation by checking their internet connection and networking sites in advance to ensure the conference is efficient. In addition, cybersecurity should be strengthened by being equipped with the right anti-malware and anti-virus software. A vast anti-virus application can detect and tackle the spies that are trying to gain access to a computer. With the obstacles under control, online communication in business is of great convenience and efficiency. This can help the company and employees save a great deal of time and money without working remotely by travel. For example, organizing a conference with a foreign partner can be conducted by scheduling a video call and sending material via email. This allows the company to utilize the money and time saved to invest in more important work to expand the business.

In conclusion, while organizing meetings, discussions, and training online can entail errors in internet connection and involve the risk of cyber hackers, such drawbacks seem to be overshadowed by its abundant benefits.