Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Studies state that in the recent times, work-related conferences and internship programmes occurring face-to face are reducing significantly. However, I personally believe that online interactive sessions are more advantageous than in-person meetings.

To begin with, web meetings have more merits as it is economically beneficial to both the company and its employees. First of all, the amount of money that has to be spent on arranging those in-person meetings can be reduced, which will save a large sum of money for the company. Consequently, this approach can redirect the currency flow into providing a more conducive office infrastructure for the workforce. On top of that, it also helps the management to offer numerous facilities to the working individuals. For example, Tata Consultancy Services, a software institution in India, offered rotating office chairs, tables, and laptops to people in the work-from-home category by utilizing the finance allowance set for conducting business meetings.

Regarding the demerits of this approach, one major disadvantage is that it leads to decrease in bonding between corporate workers. When individuals in business meet, they are able to interact about certain proposals with accuracy, which in turn enables them to analyse specific risks prior to their occurrence. As a result, work time minimizes, and it allows them to utilize that time for recreational activities, leading them to form stronger bonds. Researchers concluded that offline conferences enhance the diplomatic relationships between corporate officials over video meeting sessions.

In conclusion, although online conferences lack in maintaining proper interactions between workers, I think that they offer numerous benefits to elevate the well-being of the firm and its workers.