Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities What is the cause of this? What can be done?

Studies have shown that certain types of activities are beneficial to the body while others are bad. Inspite of this, uncountable number of individuals still indulge in the latter. The gratification derived from such is the major cause. To address the issue, sensitization and education on the devastating effects of unwholesome practices should be done.

There are several harmful lifestyles people engage in which are detrimental to health. The primary reason why the phenomenon might be the satisfaction derived from such. Among these bad habits are: smoking, alcoholism, taking illicit drugs, drug abuse, laziness, procrastination, chronic fatigue, lack of sleep, poor nutrition and excessive screen time to mention but a few. These aforementioned behaviors may offer immediate pleasure. However, the long-term consequences are often detrimental to ones health, either physically, mentally, emotionally and socially. Series of researches reveal that a considerable number of individuals who are involved in bad habits live a less productive life.

To mitigate this issue, government should create awareness as well as educate the society on healthy and unhealthy lifestyles. This will help them to make an informed choice and also develop skills to manage stress, emotions and impulses. Such should be taught at home, school, and other public places such as markets, churches, mosques, and other public gathering. Furthermore, positive habits such as good time management, intake of balanced diet, abstinence from smoking and drugs, adequate sleep and rest among others. This will not only improve quality of life but also enhance productivity.

In conclusion, while the immediate gratification derive from unhealthy activities is the major motive behind their actions despite knowing its detrimental effects, however, organizing teachings to reinforce positive behaviors will curb the phenomenon.