Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities What is the cause of this? What can be done?

There is a worrying trend that a vast majority of people opt for unhealthy pursuits, which may damage their health adversely, although the scientific study shows that some activities have positive impacts on health and some detrimental. This trend can be ascribed to a number of reasons and it must be addressed by definite actions.

Perhaps, the primary reason is that people, especially the young might be influenced by their peers that could lead to gaining some detrimental habits such as smoking, excessive drinking, and spending long hours on screens. These immensely addictive activities often make individuals cling to their habits like something stuck to another with glue, making it extremely challenging to quit. Another reason to engaging in unhealthy activities is a fast-paced lifestyle which pushes people to choose convenience over health. To exemplify, people get exhausted after completing their work and need to relax. Thus, they ignore fitness and avoid doing any kind of physical exercise such as walking and gym. Subsequently, another problematic cause is junk food, which people often find very delicious, and the excessive consumption of these foods can pose a severe menace to the health of those.

What is needed to combat this problem is definite action. The most ingenious solution, in my mind, is taking initiatives aimed at transforming personal habits such as habit-tracking applications and personalized support systems which can be more effective in helping individuals change unhealthy routines. Unlike awareness campaigns, interactive tools and personal assistance systems engage individuals, making change more sustainable. A further step could be offering incentives such as accessible and affordable fitness programs so that people could value these opportunities and improve their quality of life. Finally, in order to tackle the issue of inclining to unhealthy activities, another viable solution could be organizing mental training competitions such as chess and intellectual games.

To conclude, the major concern of the tendency to unhealthy activities caused by various reasons such as peer pressure and a hectic schedule can be mitigated by the introduction of personal assistance systems and mental training programs.