Research shows that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than other experiences in life. Which do you consider to be the major influence.

Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The question of whether innate characteristics or real-life experience plays more crucial role in our personality has been discussed for a long time. While genetic undoubtably play a significant role in our character, I strongly believe that surroundings have greater impact on person’s traits.

Firstly, innate traits such as intelligence, emotional sensitivity or others play a main role to create individual’s character. For instance, a natural ability and an interest in math or music creates the starting point for a future genius. In the future, these prodigies have a bigger chance in succeeding in these areas. So, this inevitable starting point results in certain outcomes later. However, the talent is purely based on luck. For example, even siblings can be extremely different, rising in one family doesn’t matter on person’s talent. Therefore,

Nevertheless, inborn traits do not determine the direction of a person’s life. The education, experiences, surroundings shape the main aspects of an individual’s character. A prodigy with a talent in math cannot become a skilled engineer without appropriate education and discipline. Inversely, ungifted child without God’s blessings may advance deeper in one area in case of following suitable program, environment and any motivation. For instance, a person who works every day on themselves is expected to achieve higher tops that someone who relies only on natural giftedness or superior genetics.

In conclusion, although innate abilities form a structure of a personality, life experience and environmental factors cannot be ignored. Having an inborn talent can help a person on their way towards success, but it cannot be the only thing a person should rely on. A hard-working person, constantly but slowly moving towards their goal is considered to achieve higher heights.