Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

When rich countries provide financial help to low-income nations, this support does not seem to yield any tangible results in improving the situation. This has led some people to question whether nations should take different measures and help in other ways, and I completely agree with this view.

Monetary aid hardly improves the socioeconomic condition of people from underprivileged backgrounds. More often than not, money given to nations to stand on their own feet might be corrupted by those in the positon of power to control the national budgets. These people often leverage the help from other nations, feathering their nests rather than investing in the well-being of their own nations. Take some regions of Brazil, for instance. Although Turkey and The UK offered monetary help several times, their investments had little impact in general, which was attributed to the high corruption rates in those regions of Brazil.

Given these problems and negative consequences, it is wise to provide aid in different ways. Humanitarian aid can be a great case in point. This is when people share food, clothes, footwear, and construction materials with other countries. These products are often delivered directly to recepients’ hands and can reduce starvation, famine, and the shortage of resources more effectively. During the war between Palestine and Israel, for example, many nations offered such help, which saved millions of lives and helped Palestine to recover from the damage quickly.

Another solution can be exchanging workers, such as healthcare professionals, teachers, and construction workers. These professionals often have a direct impact on the development of countries by imparting knowledge, delivering healthcare services and constructing infrastructure. Higher literacy levels are often associated with better economic growth, while a healthier society can become more productive to navigate the workforce. The construction of public facilities can further contribute, facilitating the movement of goods and people. This form of assistance is less vulnerable to corruption, and instead, it lays the foundation for any thriving nation.

To conclude, I strongly believe that financial help may not always be a prudent course of action due to corruption. Therefore, countries should explore other ways of lending a helping hand, including humanitarian aid and technical support. In so doing, we can ensure that economically disadvantaged nations can benefit from the expertise of skilled professionals and gain long-term advantages from professional support.