•Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a result of rising education expenses and uncertain employment prospects for graduates, many people have proposed that arts subjects, such as philosophy and history, should be removed from the curriculum of universities to minimize the chances of unemployment. I fully agree with this statement as it will decrease university fees and the main emphasis will be put on job-related subjects.

The main advantage is the reduced costs of education because many universities include all-taught subjects in their fees. Therefore, such a step would ease students’ lives substantially as university fees comprise a large portion of students’ spending. As a result, most students will not spend their leisure time on work in order to cover the expenses of their faculties. For example, a similar measure was implemented in Nazarbayev University, which resulted in positive outcomes as a rise in the productivity of bachelors.

Secondly, the curriculum of the given course will only include the needed subjects, which will enhance the qualification of graduates because students will emphasize their main subjects to learn. Hence, their productivity and their presence in university life would increase due to new-found time that can be spent on improving the rating of faculties. For instance, Yessenov University greatly benefited from the implementation of a similar measure, because the university’s rating has risen substantially and now it is widely considered an elite education centre.

In conclusion, considering the previously mentioned information, I strongly agree with the given statement as the implementation of this measure will reduce university costs and it will improve the productivity of learners.