•Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been observed that increasing the amount of fees by universities on the one hand and lack of job opportunities for graduates on other hand made people to think that universities should focus on practical degree courses to expand employment opportunities rather than faculties like philosophy and history. I partly agree with the given statement. My inclination is elaborated on in the ensuing paragraphs with relevant examples.

The foremost reason to justify my stand is that practical subjects like engineering, medicine and information technology often lead directly to job opportunities because these types of courses are always in demand. For instance, a graduate in computer science can easily find jobs in software companies and secure their job for a long term. Besides this, it is also true that university education is expensive, thus students expect financial benefits after graduation. Consequently, practical courses provide a career path to stable income untill retirement.

On the other hand, despite the above argument, studying the arts also has many several advantages for improving both children and adults’ human qualities. Arts education provides valuable skills such as critical thinking, communication and problem-solving. These skills are often useful in many careers including business and law. For example, a philosophy or history graduate may not have a specific job immediately, but their ability in critical thinking and solving problems can assist them to succeed in careers like law, curators, and government jobs.Furthermore, subjects like philosophy and history help preserve culture, traditions and national identity. Without them, societies may lose their connection with their past and fail to understand social values.

In conclusion, although practical courses are crucial for improving employment opportunities, arts subjects must not be eliminated. They play an vital role in developing critical thinking and preserving cultures. Therefore, i believe that universities should maintain a balance between both types of subjects.