•Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people believe that universities should not teach arts subjects like philosophy and history due to high university fees and scarcity in employment prospects for graduates and should prioritize practical degree that maximize chances of employment. However, I strongly disagree because non practical degree contribute in expanding our critical thinking and problem solving skills.

First a fall, studying humanities can help people develop critical thinking skills allowing students to increase their decision making skills which are useful for range of careers. By studying these subjects, students becomes more active thinkers which are able to solve numerous problems and evaluate them. These skills are transferable to many different careers such as law , politics or education. Therefore although it appears that studying humanities will not help graduates find a rewarding job , it is argued that they help to increase employability.

Furthermore, expertise in arts and history help people to contribute to the society. This is because knowledge in history and art is major part of civilized society. For instance, without analyzing the history we wouldn’t be able to correct our mistakes from the past. Although, medicine and science plays important role in the society, it is clear that humanities make a valuable contribution.

In conclusion, Creative subjects like these allows people to express themselves through the art they create. It is illogical to suggest that arts shouldn’t be taught in the universities , as the critical thinking skills and cultural knowledge develop benefits for both graduates and society.