Sample: Media surrounds us, from the shows we watch on television to the music we listen to on the radio. How does media affect the society? Do you agree that the impact of media has more disadvantages than benefits?

These days, the ever-increasing influence of media, especially the audio-visual ones, on various strata of society has become noticeable. Consequently, questions concerning the ways media impact society and whether its adverse effects outweigh the positive ones have risen.

To examine how media influences the community, firstly, we must mention its irrefutable power of channeling the public’s thoughts, opinions, and sentiments toward a specific direction. Thus, in some instances, through manipulation of people’s minds, media can cause major political or social alterations in society, especially ones desired by those behind that media. Furthermore, by providing productions through which information about various subjects becomes available for people, such as scientific documentaries on television, or educational podcasts on radio, media plays a valuable role in raising the level of awareness and knowledge in society.

Although media may have a limited number of negative aspects, its myriad advantages for society arguably exceed its drawbacks. Firstly, by entertaining people through music, and amusing television programs, such as shows, movies, and series, media can substantially raise the spirit in the community and inject a sense of happiness into society. Secondly, as mentioned before, media is a beneficial means to convey knowledge or up-to-date information to the public, especially nowadays, when people have comparatively drifted from books to audio-visual media. However, some disadvantages of media cannot be ignored. For example, sometimes, the media mislead a majority of people or disturb society by giving incorrect information or fake news. Moreover, the attraction to media productions, especially movies or series on television, has a considerable potential to turn into an addiction to these programs.

In conclusion, media greatly affect society by directing the public’s attitudes or emotions regarding an issue in a specific path and enriching people’s knowledge and awareness. Media’s advantages, such as providing entertainment and information to the public, outweigh its demerits, including occasionally misinforming people or making them addicted to its productions.